Up-Cycled Headboard Bench and the Dance for Hope

Good Morning Blogland!

Things are still quite wet here in Muskoka so I’ve decided to dedicate this day to the blog and my craft room!

Last Saturday Wes and I had the pleasure of attending a family memorial dance back in my hometown, Cobourg Ontario. The Dance for Hope is put on in loving memory of my Auntie Kim who passed of breast cancer 5 years ago. All money generated from the dance is donated to the Pedal for Hope, an organization from Peterborough, Ontario that creates awareness and supports research for children with cancer.

To show our support we decided to take on a project and create a bench up-cycled from an old twin-sized headboard to put in the silent auction at the dance. The original idea came from a friend who started her own recycled furnishing business, Amber Scripture at Shab ta Fab– check out her Facebook page!

HEADBOARDBENCH_DIY

Materials Used
Twin-Sized Headboard
2 10inx1inx8ft Pine Boards
Screws
Wood Glue
Sandpaper
Wood Stain
Spray Paint

I found the headboard at the Muskoka Restore for $8 and purchased the rest of the materials from Home Depot.

First. I washed and sanded the headboard while Wes built the bench frame. I sanded where I wanted to create a distressed look and stained those areas afterwards.

IMG_20130412_172033
Once Wes finished building the bench frame, I sanded the rough edges and stained, again, where I wanted to create the distressing.

IMG_20130412_184347

I spray painted the headboard while the stain on the bench frame dried and then let the headboard dry while I spray painted the bench. Once everything was painted and dry we fastened the two pieces together by pre-drilling, gluing and screwing.

I lightly sanded the areas I wanted to distress and VOILA! A cute front hall bench with room for storage!

IMG_20130413_112641

All together we spent about 3 hours of our time and $40. At the silent auction, the bench sold for $73 so we were both quite pleased with our contribution and creation 🙂

Posted in: DIY

Leave a Reply

